A burglary in Essex County refers to the act of breaking and entering into a house to commit a felony. The punishment for a burglary varies, depending on the offender’s prior criminal record or whether they were armed during the burglary. Punishments may range from a maximum of 20 years imprisonment to life imprisonment. To convict for burglary under Massachusetts Laws,
The prosecutor must prove these three elements beyond a reasonable doubt to convict an offender.
Essex County recorded 796 completed burglaries in 2019, its lowest in over a decade. However, reports of attempted burglary fluctuated between 2016 and 2019. Cases of attempted burglary peaked in 2017 with 97 reported cases and dropped to 74 reported cases in 2019.
Despite their similarities, a robbery is distinct from a burglary under different state laws. In Essex County, the differences include
A burglary conviction can have serious implications such as a permanent criminal record, incarceration, difficulties returning to a normal life post-incarceration, and so on. Consulting a professional may help the accused beat the charges. A criminal defense attorney with experience in burglary cases may be able to convince the prosecution to drop the charges or present evidence showing
A defense attorney may explore other defenses, most of which are peculiar and relevant to their client’s case and circumstances.
Essex County classifies burglaries as
Breaking and entering at night involves breaking into a building or other properties, such as a vehicle, at night with an intent to commit a crime. Regardless of whether the offender successfully commits the felony, the punishment for the offense is a maximum of 20 years in the state prison or a maximum of two and a half years in a jail or house of correction.
Unarmed burglary covers situations where the burglar breaks into a dwelling house at night while unarmed, including situations where the burglar neither arm themself with any weapon in the house nor assault any lawful occupant. Regardless of whether the offender is successful in committing the felony, they may be sentenced to a maximum of 20 years in the state prison if convicted. For second offenders, it is a minimum of five years imprisonment in the state prison.
Burglary while armed covers situations where the burglar carries a weapon or assaults a person lawfully occupying the house. Convicted offenders may be sentenced to life imprisonment in state prison or imprisonment for any term of years including a minimum of ten years imprisonment. The punishment is stricter if the burglar is a repeat offender or is armed with a firearm or assault weapon.
Some states differentiate between residential burglary and commercial burglary. In such states, the fundamental difference between residential burglary and commercial burglary is the building burgled. Residential burglary involves breaking into a dwelling house, or its equivalent, to commit theft or a felony. On the other hand, commercial burglary involves breaking into a commercial building, such as shops, restaurants, diners, etc., to commit theft or a felony. However, the relevant Massachusetts General Laws on burglary do not differentiate between residential and commercial burglary.